Uncategorized

Sea Urchin Shawl by Ambah Obrien

June, 2015 012

Last week, I noticed a pattern on Ravelry called the Sea Urchin Shawl by Ambah Obrien.  As soon as I saw it, I knew it would be my next project.  I love everything about it, the shape of it, the way it drapes, the many ways you can wear it and most of all the color.  If you know me, you know I like to stay in my comfort zone when it comes to colors for me – I always feel safe with peach, coral and browns.

So, I dyed a new color in our Fifty Shades Of Gradient on our Walkabout base, I am calling it Sea Urchin (not very original I know, but these colors make me think of a black spiny sea urchin).  I put it together with a 2.0 ounce skein of our Walkabout yarn in the color Sand Dune.  I am very excited about the way it is knitting up.  A four ounce skein of our Walkabout has 428 yards, a 2 ounce skein has 214 yards so there will be very little yarn left over.

Here are some other possibilities for this project.  To see a full range of our Fifty Shades of Gradient, click here.

Foxglove/French's
Foxglove/French’s
Business Suit/Red Hot Mama
Sequoia/French's
Sequoia/French’s
Mallard/French's
Mallard/French’s
True Love/Twilight
True Love/Twilight

My name is Debbie Davis, and I opened The Fibre Studio at Yarns to Dye For on September 1, 2008 as my youngest child was heading off to college. I absolutely love being the proprietor of The Fibre Studio. My customers are great. We have an amazing fiber community, and where else can I bring my best friend, Lola, to work?

0 comments on “Sea Urchin Shawl by Ambah Obrien

Leave a Reply

